New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pair of Springfields
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Nothing against the Mosin-Nagant, but we need to get something else going on here. I have been playing with Imgur as a replacement for photobucket. Thought I'd just drop this here and see what happens.

John

Posts: 553 | Location: illinois | Registered: 03 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert on Springfields, but I know there's something different about the bottom one (on account of I sees that small magazine poking out of the floorplate.) What am I looking at?

Both are very nice pieces, by the way.

One of Us
Picture of ismith
posted Hide Post
Beautiful!

What force or guile could not subdue,
Thro' many warlike ages,
Is wrought now by a coward few,
For hireling traitor's wages.

Posts: 249 | Location: Montana | Registered: 17 January 2018Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Could be wrong but the bottom looks like a m1922 in .22.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Correct, bottom is a 1922.

Both were sold from SA within a month of each other to a Mr. White from Cleveland. They then went to Hart Arms in Cleveland to be built into matching sporting rifles. I suspect the scopes were added at a later date. I suspect the stock maker was either Dubiel or Rodgers. Rodgers did not develop many of his unique touches until later in his career. His early stocks are indistinguishable from a Dubiel to me. Keep in mind they both worked at Hoffman before they moved to Ardmore. Dubiel went with them to Oklahoma, while Rodgers opened up his own shop on the family farm in Slippery Rock PA until Arthur Hart convinced him to come to work for him. It was at this time that Rodgers developed his unique style. I believe there was a lot of sharing of work between Hart and Hoffman while they were both in Ohio. These are both engraved Hart Arms Cleveland on the top of the barrel in fancy script.