New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hardcast suggestions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new to pistol shooting. I am looking for a hardcast bullet for my 44 mag for use in bear defense. Can anyone recommend a good hardcast to reload with.

As well, I have never reloaded for pistol but have reloaded lots of rifle so any tips on reloading hardcast bullets would be appreciated as well.

Thanks

Posts: 187 | Location: Alberta Canada | Registered: 07 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
check with mt. baldy bullets. Frank sells a great bullet. He will gladly talk with you and help you pick the right bullet for the job.

Posts: 1404 | Location: munising MI USA | Registered: 29 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
I would use a 300-310gr LFP w/ or w/o gas check. They penetrate like crazy, even at 1000fps. Do a search for hardcast bullet. There are several good suppliers out there, Performance Cast, Mt. Baldy, Beartooh, etc.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
In a revolver, 240 gr. is about max on a 44 mag. The larger bullets won't clear the cylinder. Unless they're seated deep -- which is new to me.

I had some 265 gr. loads that wouldn't clear the cylinder in a Ruger SBH -- seated to the cannalure.

44 mag. is a "backup" for bear.

one of us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 415 | Location: Milwaukee WI USA | Registered: 07 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 45-70 Govt.:
In a revolver, 240 gr. is about max on a 44 mag. The larger bullets won't clear the cylinder. Unless they're seated deep -- which is new to me.
I had some 265 gr. loads that wouldn't clear the cylinder in a Ruger SBH -- seated to the cannalure.
44 mag. is a "backup" for bear.