Find
Notify
Tools

I'm a dumb a$$?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of mustbhuntn
posted
I have been contemplating what to get for concealled carry. I was all set to get a SP 101 in 357 as the one i was looking at is fairly light, holds 5 rounds, and has a 3 inch barrel. The only handguns I have ever used have been for hunting and all have been revolvers. I have no experience with semi autos.
My friend called me a dumbass and said to get a glock 45. I need some qualified advice. Confused

Posts: 322 | Location: Green Forest, Arkansas | Registered: 24 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of invader66
posted Hide Post
Carry what you can shoot,load fast,clear a jam
etc. If you get an auto shoot it a lot and learn
it well.A sob is just as dead from a 357 as a 45. I think a auto is better and love my Kimber 45 but when you pull either you have no time to
look for the saftey etc. IMHO

Semper Fi
WE BAND OF BUBBAS
STC Hunting Club

Posts: 1684 | Location: Walker Co,Texas | Registered: 27 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You are not a dumbass. There is nothing wrong at all with useing a revolver for carry. Very rarely will a revolver ever jam. Tell your buddy that! I have and do carry both. The only reason I carry a semi-auto is because of it being slimmer when wearing summer atire. I'm small stature and it can make a big difference.

If you are comfortable with a revolver...by all means use one. It will be more natural for you to use vs. having to learn different techniques requires for shooting the semi-autos. It isn't that much of a difference but does require a different training regimen.

Keith

Posts: 153 | Location: God's country Northern Minnesota | Registered: 29 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post