New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking to buy a 1911...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the hand gunning world. I am however very interested in buying a new 1911 type pistol. I would like to get one for under 950 if possible. I have narrowed it down to the Kimber stainless II or custom II, and the Springfield armory loaded series. One thing though, I looked at a Springfield the other day and it said "made in Brazil." It may sound strange but part of the reason I want a 1911 model is because of the history behind it and I don't want one made in Brazil. Are these 2 models fairly comparable? I think the Kimber/Springfield debate tends to be somewhat like the ford/chevy one but I would like some opinions. I also have heard good things about the S&W and the sig 1911's but I just am still leaning towards Kimber or SA. This gun will be just mainly for some target shooting and is my first auto. I know Kimber has a 1 year warranty and the Springfield it a lifetime warranty...should that play a role in my decision making? I don't know how often these gun's need attention. Thanks for any help.

One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
I own a SW1911 and a Springfield Armory 1911A1. The Smith & Wesson isn't a true clone because it has: 1) an external extractor and 2) it has the later internal firing pin block (started with the Series 80 Colts). My Springfield is a true clone 1911, all steel. But I had my SA tweaked by Cylinder & Slide to add a lot of things the newer models have as standard equipment. I like the beavertail grip safety, the Novak sights and an improved trigger. If I were to go for a new Springfield I would get one of the models that has those modifications as you may end up wanting them in the end. By the way, my S&W shoots very well and is a great out the box pistol with no need for upgrades (any that I need). But a tweaked Springfield is a better pistol with a much better trigger.