Find
Notify
Tools

500 Linebaugh Conversion
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Aaron Little
posted
My good customer in NY thought this project up. He always wanted a sidelock double rifle, but just cant afford the real deal. As he put it, "I'm a Toyota kind of Surgeon". The caliber, .500 Linebaugh is a revolver cartridge. Being low pressure and small case it can go on a smaller action size, this one being a 20ga sidelock. Consequently being such a large bore we should have a pretty lightweight piece. It will be a great driven deer rifle and close range pig gun.

The barrels started as blanks, all contoured by me. Only having manual machines I have to get creative as you will see. The barrels taper from the monoblock seam(.900") down to .700" mid barrel.

The "steps" are removed by hand filing/striking. One must be careful not to washout at the bottom of the taper into the straight section.:

To affix the barrels into the resulting monoblock we shrunk fit them in. This was my first time doing it this way...nerves were shot by the end of the night! The seams at the breach end will be TIG welded, the seam at the front of the monoblock will be micro-tigged. One thing I am not is a welder, so I'll have it welded before installing the ribs.

Here is the actual size drawing. Im still playing with the grip area. The blank we picked out is a Turkish blank from Luxus.

Before inletting I wanted to really clean up the insides and outside of the actions. To do this I needed to anneal the action. The action will be CCH at a later date. Just some random polishing pics.

http://www.facebook.com/profil...p?id=100001646464847

A.M. Little Bespoke Gunmakers LLC
682-554-0044
Michael08TDK@yahoo.com

Posts: 1026 | Location: Mineola, TX | Registered: 15 October 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of D R Hunter
posted Hide Post
Great Project! (the caliber: http://ammoguide.com/cgi-bin/a...BEqstFNKYn&catid=423 )

D/R Hunter