Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Doubles and Barnes Bullets
 Login/Join

posted
I need opinions on the damage that these may cause to Double guns, vs Bolt action rifles
I have a 500 NE Hambrusch and a 470 Searcy and have used BArnes for years in y calibres from 416RM to 280AI and love them, but I understand their may be something I don't know about effect on Double
Appreciate solid help
Thx

One of Us
posted Hide Post
NitroExpress.com had a long thread on this topic. You might want to look it up.
Some of the Barnes were claimed to ruin DR barrels.
Bob Jurewicz

rjj

Posts: 74 | Location: WNY & TX | Registered: 20 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Do you have Graeme Wright's book on Shooting the British Double Rifle? The 3rd edition was out about 8 months ago & it is a MUST for double owners. Though I do not own a double rifle (I have been longing to own one for over 35 years) I bought the first edition of the book long ago and got the vastly expanded 3rd edition last year directly from the author.

This book is very informative and it strongly advises against using mono metal solids in double rifles as they cause OSR (over stressed rifling). The Nitroexpress forum thread on this subject is very controversial and at times confusing.

Good luck with your DR shooting & hunting.

Posts: 28 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 20 December 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of mouse93
posted Hide Post
First of all, contact Hambrusch and Searcy and ask them what they have to say on the matter.

Posts: 2031 | Location: Slovenia | Registered: 28 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MikeBurke
posted Hide Post
Ambrose,

Have you considered the North Forks, at least for the 470?

Several of us shoot them and feel they place less stress on the barrels than Woodleighs. GS Customs is another choice and I believe guarantees their bullets will not harm your rifle.