THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    450-400 3" Ammo Availability and Cost
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

450-400 3" Ammo Availability and Cost
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Still thinking about buying such a rifle but I would need to shoot a lot to become familiar with it.

A cursory inspection of the Internet finds 20 shots of Hornady costing $70 to $84 USD, brass at $60 or more, and all the stuff is out of stock. Kynoch is even more per round.

Personally, I would prefer to reload anyway. A lifetime supply of loaded ammo, assuming the cases last a long time because the loads are low pressure, would be maybe 200 rounds ($800 bucks!)

Is there any way to corral up some brass without spending such sums? When I started shooting the .458WM three years ago, bullets, brass, etc. for it cost a lot less.

Also, where's a good source of loading data? 450-400 is a lot rarer than .458WM.

And...can you load these long cases in an RCBS Rockchucker press? I would think so, because I can load .300 Weatherby in it.

Well, that's about 6 questions...

Indy

Life is short. Hunt hard.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Indy, I've seen Hornady 450-400 brass for $39/20...just have to keep an eye out for it.

Posts: 20165 | Location: Very NW NJ up in the Mountains | Registered: 14 June 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 470Evans
posted Hide Post
Here's the brass:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewP...productNumber=185957

Here are the bullets:

http://www.midwayusa.com/brows...52***19785***9016***

Here are the dies:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewP...productNumber=155603

Here's the shell holder:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewP...productNumber=520068

You can buy a special SH but the #31 RCBS works perfectly well.