New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why a difference in price?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
After reading the post on purchasing a double, I followed the link to kebco and found base models in the 9.3x74R to be a little more than half the price of a similiar rifle chamber in nitro calibers. Why is that? A difference in manufacturing process and materials, or just keeping the true DGR to the little bit more wealthy than me right now crowd. I know I did not specify a manufacturer because I base my observation off of the Chapius model and the Merkel models. Some price comparisons were done on GunsInternational and Cabelas. Thank you in advance for any and all information provided.

A school teacher with champagne tastes, and a beer pocket book.

Posts: 46 | Location: South GA | Registered: 28 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BrettAKSCI
posted Hide Post
I think this has been discussed a bit. I'm no expert, but it seems to be demand related in accordance with calibre. I think there is no difference in work or matterial involved.

Brett

DRSS
Life Member SCI
Life Member NRA
Life Member WSF

Rhyme of the Sheep Hunter
May fordings never be too deep, And alders not too thick; May rock slides never be too steep And ridges not too slick.
And may your bullets shoot as swell As Fred Bear's arrow's flew; And may your nose work just as well As Jack O'Connor's too.
May winds be never at your tail When stalking down the steep; May bears be never on your trail When packing out your sheep.
May the hundred pounds upon you Not make you break or trip; And may the plane in which you flew Await you at the strip.
-Seth Peterson

Posts: 4551 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 21 February 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MacD37
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Brett Adam Barringer:
I think this has been discussed a bit. I'm no expert, but it seems to be demand related in accordance with calibre. I think there is no difference in work or matterial involved.

Brett