Find
Notify
Tools

Introductions are in order
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello all,

A brief description of myself before I pose my first series of questions to the more experienced.

I am a public school teacher in South Georgia, that being said read that aforementioned statement as VERY poor man. Recently graduated from University of Georgia in December and due to budget constrants, there was no work as a teacher in my field of Agriculture here in GA. I found work as an international school teacher in Costa Rica working for local wages for about 7 months. Yet again, read as poor. But "A" job is better than no job.

While in a hammock many a night, I began to evaluate my "unicorn" list. Among the top was a Remington SPR 22. I have wanted one of these since I first saw them in the yearly catalog years ago. My original caliber of choice was to be .45-70, but somewhere between 2005 and now I changed to the .30-06 caliber. It has mainly to do with owning a CZ 550 in .458 Lott. My thinking is that the SPR is not nor will it ever be a DGR, so I decided to buy one in a more convient and cost effective caliber to shoot.

While I waited for approval of my status as a member here, I took the time to review many posts of things dealing with these rifles, many first hand experiences. I noticed many with posts of the 45-70, but few pertaining to the .30-06. I paid no attention to this as I have ordered one of the said rifles from a dealer in Tennessee. My FFL dealer here should take delivery of her tomorrow and I should claim my unicorn by about 6 tomorrow night.

Now to the point, I know they are not fancy. I hope that she will function at least to a marginal 75 yards for deer and hogs. I know that I will need some help with the regulation of barrels, working the triggers, possibly mounting a scope, and a multitude of other things. I ask for you help in advance and extend a humble thanks to all imputs.