New
Find
Notify
Tools

Proper Double Lubricatioin
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been shooting my Chapuis for a couple years now. I keep hearing my old Uncle talking inside my head. He says, "Boy don't go squirtin' oil everywhere in that gun." So, I'm a little cautious. I've never seen anything on the correct way to lubicate these rifles.
Where are the correct lubing points on a double, and what are the proper lubes to use.
Thanks
Bfly

Work hard and be nice, you never have enough time or friends.

Posts: 1195 | Location: Lake Nice, VA | Registered: 15 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Over lubrication is common with guns.With doubles especially side lock and especially when stored muzzle up ,oil drips down into the wood and rots it out.Proper lube is most important on double shotguns that are used often in things like sporting clays.Hinge pins and lock see high stresses and there is a tendency to wipe off the lube .There are special greases made for this such as RIG +P.The rest of the gun should be cleaned and lightly lubed with a good gun oil.Spray lubes usually put too much in the gun [and in your lungs !] Occassionally remove the side locks or stock to inspect the insides .Lube critical parts with a syringe. Old lube and powder residue can be removed with cotton swabs .

one of us
posted Hide Post
IIRC, if you do a search here for the best lubes and the proper places/amounts you will find much.

Personelly, I found RIG grease to run too much, especially in Africa in the heat. I needed to keep it in the fridge to keep it grease and not light oil. After searching for the best grease, I came upon a high pressure, high temp grease made or offered by Glock. Keeps its consistency in cold and hot temps, stays put.

IMO, migrating and/or dirty grease is the cause of most if not all rifles coming off face, same with shotguns too.

Grease out to be removed after every shooting session and replaced prior to the next shooting session.