New
Find
Notify
Tools

My Sabatti at 25 yards
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am one of the people who recently purchased a Sabatti in 450 NE. I have never owned a double rifle, so it took me a couple of weeks to gather new reloading equipment and supplies to load for the 450 NE.

Based on the recommendation of a fellow AR member, Clayman216 IIRC, I also purchased "Shooting the British Double Rifle" by Graeme Write. Very good advice indeed! Not only do I now understand what regulation is, but also the theory behind how it is achieved. Furthermore, the book supplied me with the reloading information I needed to get started with this caliber.

I must say that I am very happy with this rifle, probably more so than with any other purchase. I'm no professional, but is appears to be very well made. The wood is beautiful, the rifle feels solid and fits me like a glove. The only thing I would improve upon is the trigger pull. I haven't measured it, but the triggers are quite stiff, especially since I prefer mine to be quite light. I'll see what happens after a couple hundred dry fires, but can't imagine they will improve that much. That said, they may very well be exactly what some people like.

The following two pictures are the factory regulation target I received with the rifle. After reading the book I'm a little surprised that "final tuning" doesn't consist of more than one shot per barrel.

These pictures are from today, six rounds loaded with 97 grains of R19 behind a 450 grain North Fork expanding bullet.

I was using the large 50 yard slow fire pistol targets. FYI in case they are visible online...those are NOT my painted toes.

This is the group up close, showing the individual shots.

These three are the group measurments width, height, and greatest "spread."