New
Find
Notify
Tools

What is it?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What is it? No this is not a trick question I need some help. This came to me in a beautiful old oak and leather gun case for a Jeffery .600 NE, (the gun was missing!)

The hallmarks would indicate silver but I am no expert. The brass case is a .600 NE and the lettering is Patent “ Magazine”

Posts: 137 | Location: Manitoba, Canada | Registered: 25 August 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
"W.M" represents the makers (silversmiths) mark, generally his initials.

The "anchor" to the right indicates that the item was made in Birmingham.

The "lion passant"(yep, that little squiggle is a lion) indicates that the item is silver and of sterling quality.

The "e" on the far right is a year stamp, indicating when the item was made, in this case 1904.

Hope that helps. beer

PS: Similar items were made to house cigars.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks a lot John, now all we have to do is find out what she is, somebody went to a lot of trouble to make this.

Posts: 137 | Location: Manitoba, Canada | Registered: 25 August 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Brass and leather in tropical climates are not best friends. So you need something else and, at that time, silver was cheap.

Well, cheap if you could afford the sort of shooting that went with a 600 DR! Even the £25 fee in Kenya in the 1920s was actually quite a lot.

The item is no more or less than a holder for spare cartridges to go in the user's pocket. Today these things would be in injection moulded plastic.

The marks are British Assay Marks. Also known as "hallmarks".

The anchor informs that it was assayed at Birmingham.

The lion is a "lion passant" and is called a "standard" mark. It tells us the purity of the silver. In this case .925 pure silver or "sterling" silver.

The "C" is a date code for the year 1902 and specific to items assayed in Birmimgham.