Find
Notify
Tools

Pedersoli Mk IV
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Oldsarge
posted
Today I happened to be browsing around and discovered that the Kodiak Mk IV is chambered for 9.3x74. I know that converting their 45/70 to .450NE is a popular way to get a budget DG double rifle but never knew that they had chambered this fine cartridge. Has anyone out there got any experience with it? For under $4000, anyone with a passion for hammerguns must be drooling over the thought. Who knows? It might even be enough to make me brave the perils of economy class and go back to Africa again.

Sarge

Holland's .375: One Planet, One Rifle . . . for one hundred years!

Posts: 2690 | Location: Lakewood, CA. USA | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You asked if anyone had experience with it, but not clear if you meant with the Kodiak rifle, or with the 9.3sx74R cartridge. I have no experience with the Kodiak, but have considerable experience with, and own, various double rifles, o/u as well as side by side, classic English, classic German, Belgian, Spanish, etc., and modern made double rifles, French, German, Italian, Spanish, etc. in this caliber. Have hunted extensively with the caliber as well, in Montana and Oregon especially. Have also hunted extensively with numerous other calibers, from .303 British to .500 NE in double rifles, and I must say that I now can understand and appreciate how the Europeans like the caliber so much, for it is a wonderful cartridge, I think the best classic early cartridge ever developed by the Germans. Rather than a Kodiak, if one can get away from the outside hammers, why not try another Italian double in same caliber, the Sabatti? They make their one model, color case hardened, at around $3000, and a far better model that resembles their big model, but scaled down, for $4,000 (see it tested and praised in January issue of Guns magazine), or go all out and get the big brother model in .450/.400, .450, .470, or .5