New
Find
Notify
Tools

new guy! new double!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi everyone! My name's Brandon. I'm an ER nurse and an avid outdoorsman. Been into firearms my whole life and just recently got into hunting, big bores, and double rifles! Heading to South Africa for plains game this fall and then Zimbabwe next summer for tuskless cow elephant and cape buffalo.

Purchased my first double a week or so ago, a Merkel 140 in .470NE, Cabela's edition with ejectors. Shot it for the first time today and love it!

I've got a million questions for everyone, but I'll reserve those for specific posts. For now, a few pictures. (Not the best, just a few I snapped at the range today.)

Posts: 1435 | Location: New England | Registered: 22 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MikeBurke
posted Hide Post
Let me be the first to say "Welcome Aboard".

Congratulations on the purchase.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Welcome.

Interesting photo, Black gun versus traditional !!! LOL

Good to see you leaning into it when firing the gun.

Posts: 3191 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 01 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of retreever
posted Hide Post
FF, welcome aboard and I hope you are wearing plug under the roof shooting the boomer. Your never the same after shooting a double rifle.

Mike

Michael Podwika... DRSS bigbores and hunting www.pvt.co.za " MAKE THE SHOT " 450#2 Famars

Posts: 6768 | Location: Wyoming, Pa. USA | Registered: 17 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the welcome, guys! Very interesting point on the traditional vs black rifle, I didn't notice that! And yes, I'm wearing custom molded hearing protection. I reserve shooting without plugs for the last few rounds for out from under the overhang so long as I'm the only one on the range.

Posts: 1435 | Location: New England | Registered: 22 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post