Find
Notify
Tools

Winchester 101 rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi
Have any one here ever shot with a Winchester 101 rifle? I am looking at one in 9.3mmx74r and wondered how it may shoot. As the rifle is for sale at auction so there is no chance to try before I buy.

Thanks
Bob

Posts: 37 | Location: Cumbria, England | Registered: 14 February 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of JDA-CO
posted Hide Post
These grand Europeans were decent looking DR's and I owned one in 270 for a short time.

They were not regulated (traditionally) and used a line-bore method. As such, most of these need to be sent off to be regulated.

Unless you can verify that the both barrels land in the same zip code, I'd put my money towards a Chapuis, VC, Merk or something along those lines.

JDA

One of Us
Picture of drhall762
posted Hide Post
May I ask what the "line bore method" of regulating entails. I am new to all this terminology.

Thanks,

Dave

In 100 years who of us will care?
An armed society is a polite society!
Just because they say you are paranoid doesn't mean they are not out to get you.

Posts: 899 | Location: Ammon, NC | Registered: 31 December 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of JDA-CO
posted Hide Post
In other words, they were built in a fixture and not regulated for a particular round. Others on the site can give you greater technical detail than I, but my understanding is that a different solder was used, as well, which makes them a little more difficult to re-regulate (and tougher to find somebody who will do it). Cost savings...

As I recall, my 270 would put two rounds about 4-4.5 inches apart (at 50yds). If you can find one that shoots, I think they are good rifles. Mine had spectacular wood.

One of Us
Picture of drhall762
posted Hide Post
Okay, got it. Thanks. Like speaking a whole new language.

Dave

In 100 years who of us will care?
An armed society is a polite society!