Find
Notify
Tools

William Evans 450 NE
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted
I found this rifle with a collector here in NZ. I have been drooling over it for a couple of years. It was made by Webley & is for sale at US$24k.

It is in very tidy condition. I am in one of those lustful moods......

"When the wind stops....start rowing. When the wind starts, get the sail up quick."

Posts: 11253 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
That gun won't be for sale long. It is a beauty.

One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
Yes, it should sell quickly, if tight and shiny bored. Nice engraving and interesting woodwork. Is the bar extra deep or the wee fore end just an eccentricity? Webley seem to have made lots of good db rifles for other makers but I wonder what William Evans's experience at Purdey's brought to this equation.

Posts: 5117 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Looks like a Leonard action to me but I am no expert on such matters.

465H&H

Posts: 5686 | Location: Nampa, Idaho | Registered: 10 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MacD37
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 465H&H:
Looks like a Leonard action to me but I am no expert on such matters.

465H&H

Confused Looks like a long bar Webley to me but I also am not an expert! You need to ask Rusty, about the action.

In any case that is a nice rifle, and if the is a Webley number on the front hanger under the fore end then it is a Webley.

The fore end is small, but it looks like the barrels are long making the fore end look smaller than it is. The barrels look to be 28 inches. I have a Westley Richards 500/450 that has 28 inch barrels, and a very small fore end and I love the way it handles.

................................ coffee

....Mac >>>===(x)===> MacD37, ...and DUGABOY1
DRSS Charter member