Find
Notify
Tools

Starting Search For Double
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of RAR60
posted
I'm entertaining getting a left hand Double Rifle.
I have no experience with them. How do the seasoned experts recommend I proceed? I'm not looking to pay for pretty or that. I'll probably use it one to two times and go in safe. Thanks in advance.

Zim 2006
Zim 2007
Namibia 2013
Brown Bear Togiak Nat'l Refuge Sep 2010
Argentina 2019
RSA 2023
Tanzania 2024
SCI Life Member
USMC

One of Us
posted Hide Post
A good place to start is Champlinarms.com. Lots of helpful information can be obtained from the owner.

DRSS

Posts: 1167 | Location: Pamplico, SC USA | Registered: 24 August 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
You might check out this Heym 89B that Ralf Martini has on consignment.

Heym 89B

Posts: 14 | Location: AK | Registered: 13 February 2004Reply With Quote
One Of Us
posted Hide Post
What do you plan to hunt?

I am not aware of any British doubles in Southpaw configuration?? But that said, if you buy the right rifle that fits you, without a cheekpiece, you could shoot most any double left handed, more easily than a bolt gun. I have seen comments, only 3% of shooters are left handed and shoot that way!!

Buy one that takes ammo that is easily purchased from Hornady, Federal, or Kynamco/Kynoch.... 470NE 450NE, 375FLMAG,500NE, etc. or plan on handloading and plenty of shooting developing loads.

You need to be intimately familiar with any dangerous game rifle!! Lots of practice!!

Good luck in your pursuit. This is a good time to buy, prices on all doubles are in decline!!

470EDDY

Posts: 2674 | Location: The Other Washington | Registered: 24 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of RAR60
posted Hide Post