New
Find
Notify
Tools

Elephant double
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Chris, I appreciate the reply. The four shot group is strung from low left to right high for about six inches. The right barrel is shooting pretty well, about two inches low and two inches right. Very nice. The left barrel is dropping low and left.

I am shooting off a sandbagged front rest and a good hold on the rear. Now bear in mind that I am just getting started shooting it, but these are the results so far.

Chris while I have you attention, what is the final decision about using Barnes banded solids in the Heym. Yes or no? Any problem with GS custom solids?

Hopefully I will have some better shooting information for you in the next few days.

What loads do you have for H4831 and 500gr solids in the 500gr solids in the 470 nitro?

Any help appreciated.

josh

Posts: 304 | Location: West Texas | Registered: 01 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Chris, I forgot to mention to you that I just bought a gunshop. It is a 27 year old business in Abilene, TX. The owner died and it looked like they might have to liquidate and close. I made the owners an offer and they accepted. We are just now getting restocked, but eventually we want to carry some high end fine arms. How does one get associated with Heym? I don't know anything about that end of the gun business but my manager has been with the store since it was opened 27 years ago. He does.

Thanks,
josh

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I am shooting off a sandbagged front rest and a good hold on the rear. Now bear in mind that I am just getting started shooting it, but these are the results so far.

Josh,

Unless you are holding the barrels and merely resting the back of your left hand on the bags, here is a likely source for any stringing.