New
Find
Notify
Tools

OK in double rifles?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Just wondering if the Barnes TSX and Banded Solids were OK to shoot in double rifles? Thought I read something somewhere about these as a no no? Thanks.

Larry Sellers
SCI (International) Life Member

Posts: 3460 | Location: Jemez Mountains, New Mexico | Registered: 09 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I shoot them in my doubles, or did until I started shooting CEBs. They do just fine. Mr Searcy says that they will NOT hurt his rifles.

Posts: 4214 | Location: Southern Colorado | Registered: 09 October 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
No matter what make of double I own, the only time I will shoot a solid or monometal out of my rifle is when I am shooting at game.I just dont trust solid anything in any of my rifles.Cleaning copper fouling from solids out of your bores may not be such an easy task-it could be very hard on bores.This is just my opinion.When shooting just for fun or practice it is jacketed softs for me.I have seen solids that caused so much serious fouling in some of my bores that it was impossible to remove without severe stress to the bore.I would hate this to happen to my double.I once read of a guy regulating H&H rifles back in their day say that you should shoot the least solids as possible from your barrels-because they were too hard on the bores.

Posts: 11651 | Location: Montreal | Registered: 07 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Todd Williams
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Larry Sellers:
Just wondering if the Barnes TSX and Banded Solids were OK to shoot in double rifles? Thought I read something somewhere about these as a no no? Thanks.

Larry Sellers
SCI (International) Life Member