Find
Notify
Tools

More range results
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of RAC
posted
I am still learning how to shoot my Chapuis 9,3 X 74R double. I got this one off classifieds from another member. It is my first double. So far I have had good luck with the longevity of the factory loaded Norma brass. I am up to 5 loadings and so far have no lost cases. I have 32 once fired cases and have since bought another 100 Norma non loaded cases. I also have 40 RWS virgin cases. Incidentally, the factory loaded Norma cases are about on average 3.5 grains heavier than the Norma virgin brass. All my shooting has been standing off of homemade shooting sticks with my butt leaning on the front of my bench for additional support. Until this week I have not tried to scope the rifle. I have tried Varget and IMR 4064 with the 4064 giving me much better results, as the Varget was crossing the shots. I originally shot my Oryx bullets that I bought with the rifle but since then I have been shooting the 286 gr Privi bullets as they are cheap and accurate. Most of my shooting with iron sights is at 50 meters or so on paper targets but I have also shot a few at a steel gong I have on my range from approx 115 yards. Recommendations from fellow board members had me looking for IMR4831 and H4831SC. Luckily I was able to get 8 lbs of H4831SC from Powder Valley. With this bullet and brass along with a CCI LRP, I am able to get 2300 fps with 68 grains of H4831SC with pretty decent groups for me and iron sights. Yesterday, I decided to scope the rifle. It came with a Leupold 1.75 x 6 with the mounts that have a dovetail in the front and a lever in the back. (not sure who makes it) I set the open barrel on sandbags at 25 yards and looked through the barrels at the target, then adjusted the crosshairs where they were pretty close to the target. 2 shots--adjusted scope, then moved to 50 meters. 2 shots--adjusted and moved to 100 meters. 2 shots, adjusted and shot 2 more. I only shoot it 8 times a day