New
Find
Notify
Tools

How many rounds?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
This has been asked before I am sure, but perhaps not for double rifles so: How many rounds of D/R ammo do you take for an elephant hunt? How many for a buff hunt? Let's assume that you have a 450/470/500 caliber range gun. I think you would not need more than, say, 20 rounds apiece but I have no experience.
Thanks, Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10510 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Haven't hunted what you listed except Aust Water buffalo but
I find I am limited by the 5kg limit on planes per person.

Especially 500 Nitro.

Posts: 3191 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 01 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Peter, how many rifles are you taking? If your taking just one rifle for ele I take minimum of 10 softs and 20 solids. Buff minimum of 20 softs, 10 solids.

"An individual with experience is never at the mercies of an individual with an argument"

Posts: 1827 | Location: Palmer AK & Prescott Valley AZ | Registered: 01 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well, still in the planning stages but I was thinking of a double and a Blaser in 375 H&H. I have a CZ in 416 Rigby as well, but it probably won't go.
Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10510 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post