Find
Notify
Tools

Heresy...or an Anomoly
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Greetings from South Africa...

What follows may be looked at as heresy by true double rifle connoisseur....but here we go. Eleven years ago I became involved in the hunting safari industry in South Africa to the point where I graduated from the South Arfican National Professional Hunting School. My interest in double rifles was kindled. I belog to a vintagers shooting club in Colorado. One of the members was, at that tine, the manager of firearms for Cabela’s. He told me that Cabela’s was going to start offering Italian double rifles. I decided to get a .45-70 and a .450 NE. These were personally selected for me. Both are extremely low serial numbers, and in the case of the .45-70, a single diget. Both shoot tight groups. Both have been taken apart by a good double smith in South Africa and pronounced, “Good to go.”

The .450 NE has taken cape buffalo, lion, hippopotamus, and elephant. I have used it as a backup gun on several buffalo hunts. One of my jobs was tracking wounded plains game, dangerous game excepted. If a client wounded an animal, and after half a day looking for it without success, I and a tracker would try to locate it and finish it off. This, in my opinion, seemed to be the perfect job for the .45-70 since the gun is relatively light and accurate. For the first few animals I loaded it with 405 grain flatnose soft point bullets. They did the job. Since I also had some 325 grain Leverlution ammunition, I decided to try some out. Given a slightly adjusted sight picture, they are on target. What followed is my standard loading configuration; a 32 5 grain in the left barrel and a 405 grain in the right barrel. This has given me versatility.