THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Strait Stock for Double Rifle
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Strait Stock for Double Rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi all,

I have just received my Heym 88B Safari in .470 NE three weeks ago. I have a master stock maker at Rosenthal, Windhoek, Namibia measured my fitting and have a custom stock made by Outschar, Ferlach, in Germany. I have shot the rifle about 35 rounds already and it did kick the hell out of me. The rifle weight 9.7 lbs (4.41 kg). While my Winchester 500 MDM with AI strait stock weights at 8.9 lbs (4.05 kg) and Mauser M03 PH with strait fiberglass stock .458 Lott weights at 8.8 lbs (4.0 kg), both rifles kick considerably less. All three rifles use same 500 grains bullet in weight (all factory load), I can shoot these two rifles with strait stock all day with pleasure, whereas I can shoot Heym only eight to ten rounds, biting my teeth. Is it possible to have a DR build and regulate with strait stock? I will install a Red Dot on the rifle.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Thorns in fingers and hands, cuts in arms and legs, blisters in feets, happiness in me.

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Of course it is if the maker will do it; I just ordered a Chapuis and they will make the stock straighter than their standard extreme drop at the heel. Look at the Krieghoff big 5; it has a very straight stock. You are right that too much drop at the heel makes the recoil feel much harder, most of which comes from the comb smacking you in the face like a right from George Forman.

Posts: 17281 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post