Tools

Which O/U Double Rifle ??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Specifications

1) Caliber - 9.3x74R
2) Single-Trigger
3) Although I probably use a Doctor Optic III for the primary sights, it would be desirable to be able to mount a scope withut duplicationg the price of the rifle.

The rifle will be used for wild boar and perhaps a bear or two -- no dangerous game is anticiapted at this time.

To fore-stall those who comment on "why a double rifle really needs 2 triggers" - not for me thank-you. I've been shooting O/U shotguns (all with single-trigger's)for more than 40 years and have put a lot of pellets down-range at a variety of targets - including just a few shots shy of 500,000 thru a Perazzi O/U during a 6 year period. That's a lot of muscle memory to try and overcome. Comment if you must but it's a non-starter for me.

The O/U rifles I'm considering are (1) a Chapuis C15, (2) a Merkel B3, (3) a Heym, and (4) a Zoli and at this point I think the front runners are the Chapuis and the Zoli.

One of the nice features of the Chapuis is there is a removable plate on the face of the receiver that can be replaced, if gets excessively worn, by a thicker one.

The Zoli has something that is unique in double rifles - interchangable triggers. You can buy an extra set of triggers, complete with trigger guard etc that you can pop in if your trigger go belly up while hunting.

The Heym has a ltwt alloy frame and is lighter than the others - a litter concerned about recoil and durability.

The Merkel is interesting - if you can get something other than the standard stock which has basketweave carving instead of checkering & has a strange shape, at least to my eye.

And from I've been able to dig up, they cost just about the same in the standard grades -- $5K to about $7K.

Did I miss any that meet my specs?

Any thoughts, comments, suggestions other than "the SxS is better than an O/U" and/or "single-trigger's! Are you kidding?" would be appreciated.

DB Bill aka Bill George