New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ken Owen 600 Nitro Express
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Good evening, I have an opportunity to purchase a Ken Owen 600 nitro, Does anyone have experiance with this maker, as far as durability, quality, I am relatively new to double rifles and cant find a websight for Mr. Owen. The seller says its Mr. Owens best quality w/ extensive engraving wirh case colors. Thanks in advance for opinions and advice. Jerry

One of Us
Picture of 505ED
posted Hide Post
Jerry,

If it is the gun in Washington State, its a really nice gun. Looked at buying it myself but, its really heavy. As a fun gun OK, but as the Owen gun is 16.1lbs (If my memory serves me) is a little much for me.

Jeff Wemmer(on BOE) is the only indian that I've seen pack a 15 + pound double and looked refreshed at the end of the day.

The last consideration is feeding the 600. Brass, bullets and dies.$$$$$$$$$$$$ I hope I put enough dollar signs Big Grin

Ken has done some work in the past for me, and I consider him a friend. Good guy and I know it will be a accurate well built gun. Good luck!

Ed

DRSS Member

Posts: 2289 | Location: Texas | Registered: 02 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks 505ED, If I can get the price right, I think I will buy this rifle, It should be more than enough to cure my big boar afliction for now. I hope Jerry

One of Us
Picture of SAFARIKID
posted Hide Post
Get it! Ken has built a fantastic 4 bore for me and another for Bigdoggy here on AR.He also built a 600 for a friend with a spare set of 577 barrels and he loves it!The 600 you are looking at was tested by Ross Seyfried and he said it was the most accurate double he ever fired!I may be wrong,but I think it weighed closer to 14pds? Good Luck!

"That's not a knife..THIS is a KNIFE" !

Posts: 6572 | Location: NEW ORLEANS / CAJUN COUNTRY!!! | Registered: 05 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yea!!! Bring that bad boy to Oklahoma...
ND BOOM