New
Find
Notify
Tools

double barrel length 24 -26
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I will be ordering a 577 nitro next week . I want the double to come in at 11-12 pounds. Ive been told that this can be done by shortening the barrel by one inch(from 26-25 inch). My question to you pros? is there a reason not to go to 24 inches? I'm new to doubles. I understand the rifle will be regulated to 50 yards anyway. What sizes barrels do you all have ..thanks steve

Posts: 297 | Location: california | Registered: 20 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 577NitroExpress
posted Hide Post
I can see this going down the toilet real fast and getting into pissers match about rifle weights, but...

Personal statement here, but I would want the manufacture of the rifle to make it so it fits properly first and foremost.

If longer barrels balances the rifle better, for me, than it will be more pleasant to shoot.

If the barrels are shorter and they throw off the balance and is a nightmare to shoot to save some ounces, it's a personal call.

Some folks like lighter guns to make humping around in the heat easier; some guys like guns that are better balanced and (might be) heavier to carry, but will be a better handling rifle when fired.

Personal preference.

My .577 is 13.6 lbs. Fits me well and doesn't kill me to shoot it. I've humped it around Texas for a few days in the summer which wasn't pleasant, but I shoot it more than carry it.

Again personal preference.

577NitroExpress
Double Rifle Shooters Society
Francotte .470 Nitro Express

If stupidity hurt, a lot of people would be walking around screaming...

Posts: 2789 | Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 08 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
AKA:

Also, you say you want the rifle to come in at 11 lbs.