THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Properly cleaning and storing a DR
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Properly cleaning and storing a DR
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been gently scolded by DRSS member about how to clean and store my DR's. I am a novice at DR maintenance and have read a lot of threads throughout AR forums. There seems to be no consensus. Please, in cookbook fashion!!!!!, tell me what the heck to do. I cannot be harassed by Mississippian any longer.

DRSS

Posts: 29 | Location: Madison, Mississippi | Registered: 24 October 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Clean the barrels a you would any other rifle.

Hoppe's No 9 Powder Solvent - get all the powder residue out.

Use a Copper Cleaner to get the Copper out. I use WIPE OUT PATCH OUT

Just don't use Sweets 7.62 on the barrels if you value your barrels.

Posts: 3191 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 01 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 500N:
Clean the barrels a you would any other rifle.

......Just don't use Sweets 7.62 on the barrels if you value your barrels.....

Absolutely! or any other ammonia based solvent.

"When the wind stops....start rowing. When the wind starts, get the sail up quick."

Posts: 11243 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The above info is spot on. I store my DR (actually all of my rifles) barrels down in the gun safe after using the snap caps to release the firing pins.

"An individual with experience is never at the mercies of an individual with an argument"

Posts: 1827 | Location: Palmer AK & Prescott Valley AZ | Registered: 01 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ROSCOE
posted Hide Post