THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Distance regulated for on Sabatti 416 Rigby DR
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Distance regulated for on Sabatti 416 Rigby DR
 Login/Join

posted
I have just bit the bullet, pun intended, and put Sabatti .416 Rigby in layaway. I read the booklet and it doesn't mention anything about the sight settings.

It has three leaf rear fold down 2, sights.

I am new to the DR interest. Just came back from an easy plains game hunt in South Africa, now have the bug.

Help appreciated.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by cwasam:
Help appreciated.

First off, welcome to AR and the band of misfit boys and their DR toys.

Rifle most likely is regulated at 50 meters. IMO it's great you have the 416 in layaway and haven't bought it yet, tell them you've changed your mind and want a 450/400 or a 450 N.E. instead. I use to have a DR chambered in 416 Rigby and from a recoil stand point it will be greater than the 450/400 and feel on equal to the 450 N.E, my as well get a classic DR caliber. Resale value will be much greater also. As a rule stay away from high pressure non rimmed cartridges in big bore DR's you intend to use on DG.
I have two DR's and one of them is chambered in a non-rimmed 375 H&H. I have a Heym in 500 N.E. I use 375 H&H for PG and larger North american critters.

"An individual with experience is never at the mercies of an individual with an argument"

Posts: 1827 | Location: Palmer AK & Prescott Valley AZ | Registered: 01 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MacD37
posted Hide Post
quote:
I have just bit the bullet, pun intended, and put Sabatti .416 Rigby in layaway. I read the booklet and it doesn't mention anything about the sight settings.

It has three leaf rear fold down 2, sights.