THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    New member purchased a Verney-Carron Sagittaire and has questions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New member purchased a Verney-Carron Sagittaire and has questions
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of steyrsteve
posted
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie on this forum who just purchased a beautiful used Verney-Carron Sagittaire 9.3x74R.
I am retired and have been shooting since the age of 4 and have been reloading since I was 15, but the DR area is new to me. I'm thrilled like a kid getting a new toy but have some questions since, as stated, this is my first adventure in the world of DR's.
How do I identify the date of manufacture? It apparently is an older model, in near new condition, though, as it has a Clay Center, KS listing on the receiver, right side, just over the chamber.
Also, due to a Fed Ex shipping mishap, there is a small, 1/3 fingernail size sliver chipped out of the toe in front of the plastic butt plate. Can I install a recoil pad (please suggest the best) without messing up the regulation? And finally, it came with (factory, I believe) bases and rings but the front base is out of the rifle. I'm not sure about installation of the base nor even of how the rings attach to the bases. The factory paperwork and target is in the box - regulation is with 286 grain Norma Oryx ammunition. However, the instruction manual is mostly for a shotgun model and there is no information on scope installation.
I look forward to enjoying this Forum. From what I have read, we seem to be on the same page in out thoughts and dreams and it's a great place to share these important facets of our lives.