New
Find
Notify
Tools

470 max loads?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a (new) heym 88b 470 with 24 inch barrels that I am working up loads for and I also have a new Chrony Beta- that I am using to do this and I am abit paranoid about these things as this is my first time reloading for the Big NE's and my first double, so I wanted to consult the accumulated wisdom here. Is there an absolute maximum amount of R15 I should stick to with the 470NE?

My load right now is with full length resized once fired norma brass,500 gr woodleiegh softs, 93grains of R15, and a kynoch foam wad.I had to use winchester magnum primers because the federal 215's are impossible for me to find in ontario. I decided not to crimp-My brass comes out of the RCBS dies (expander removed) with a Neck ID of .467" (.007 undersize) and seems to grip damn tight.

This is chronoing about 2080fps (I have checked the chrony with factory norma 500grain solids and they are at about 2175-2200 fps).

I started at 86 grains (1920 fps) and worked my way up from there. At 93 grains my left barrel still shoots 2" to the left- The right barrel is darn close to where it should be (this is at 30 yards). I am sure if I keep going that the left barrel is going to come in towards poa and velocity will equal the norma loads.- I figure at about 96 or 97 grains.

I am however starting to get abit nervous as I see most loads are listed under 90 grains- and on steves reloading pages 90 grains is listed at the max. If my chrony says 2080 and the left barrel still wants to move towards the POA should I keep going up till 96 grains or am I creating a questionable amount of pressure here?

I am wondering if the difference could be in the primers as most use federal?
How much difference would it make in velocity if I started to crimp?
FYI the gun was regulated with federal 500 grain trophy bonded at the factory