THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Question about new Merkel 470 NE test results
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question about new Merkel 470 NE test results
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to the double rifle world, and would appreciate an opinion on the early test results with my Merkel .470 NE.

The rifle was regulated with Federal ammunition using 500 gr. TBC bullets.
My tests have been done with Hornady ammunition using 500 gr. DGS bullets.

Three 2 shot groups were fired at 50 yards during each of several shooting sessions on different days; that is, 6 rounds during each shooting session. Right barrel first, then left, but probably 45 – 60 seconds apart, not 4 – 8 seconds as Merkel recommends.
Group 2 was fired immediately after group 1 with just enough time passing to reload and settle on the sticks again, being focused but not rushing.
Group 3 was fired 15 – 20 minutes later to let the barrels cool, although they were still quite warm but no longer hot.

A distinct and consistent pattern was evident at each session. The right barrel grouped all 3 shots into 1 - 1 ½ inches. However the left barrel shot this way:
• Shot 1: 1 ½ - 2 inches left and 2 inches low, relative to the right barrel
• Shot 2: Slightly less left and 4 inches low, relative to the right barrel,
• Shot 3: 4 inches left and 2 ½ inches low, relative to the right barrel

The test target accompanying the rifle seems to show a 1 ¼ - 1 ½ inch group at 50 meters with the left barrel a bit lower than the right. (I am assuming the shots did not cross at that range.)

I understand I am not shooting the ammunition used to regulate the rifle but the striking difference in the accuracy of the two barrels, along with the remarkable consistency of the left barrel pattern, makes me wonder.

Does anyone have thoughts on this?