THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    DR lockk types / strengths & weaknesses
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

DR lockk types / strengths & weaknesses
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I would like information on DR lock types. Strengths & weaknesses of each and photos if possible. Can anyone help ?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert on the lock types but some of the well known one's are

Box lock actions

Webley Screw Grip
Webley PHV 1

WR Droplock

Sidelock actions

Early Holland & Holland "Leg of Mutton" actions - known as one of the
strongest actions around.

Holland & Holland Reinforced DR Action (has the nice curved extra metal
coming down from the breechface and along the outside edge of the water table)
- I think it is the strengthened DR version of the AB Action and was used
after about 1915 or somewhere around there. Previous H&H DR's did not have
the extra metal on the locks.

Weak / Soft actions - as far as I am concerned

Cogswell and Harrison Box Locks made in 375 2 1/2" NE

One action I am personally NOT a fan off is the Greener Cross Bolt Box Lock.
Not saying anything wrong with it per se but just seen too many loose guns
with this system.

Well that's a start !!!

Posts: 3191 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 01 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
What are the mechanical factors that tend to make strong actions as far as the bites are concerned or any other factors such as third bites etc........ ?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Try and find post by 400NitroExpress on here or the NE Forum (especially the NE Forum).

He does a great job of explaining actions and how they work.

Posts: 3191 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 01 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted Hide Post