Find
Notify
Tools

hammer double protocol
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of quartermain
posted
I guess my first post didn't go thru so I'll ask again. What is the "standard" method for two quick shots with a hammer double? Do you start the show with both cocked or right/left as is normally done. Would recoil of the first affect the cocked hammer on the second barrel? Gun in question is the Pedersoli Kodiak in everybody's favorite DG caliber 45-70 of course.

Posts: 46 | Location: southeastern pa | Registered: 28 October 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal pappas
posted Hide Post
Q:
I have no experience with the Kodiak but shoot lots with my hammer doubles from .450 up to 4-bore. When at the range I sometimes cock one hammer at a time and others I cock both hammers for a quicker left and right (I shoot the left barrel first and have done so for 20+ years). If the sears are solid, cocking both hammers should not be a problem. If "hair trigger pulls" then the second hammer may fall upon recoil. Then, there is the problem of "strumming" the rear hammer and doubling that way (which has never happened to me as I fire the left barre [rear trigger] first).
Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska
www.CalPappas.com
www.CalPappas.blogspot.com
1994 Zimbabwe
1997 Zimbabwe
1998 Zimbabwe
1999 Zimbabwe
1999 Namibia, Botswana, Zambia--vacation
2000 Australia
2002 South Africa
2003 South Africa
2003 Zimbabwe
2005 South Africa
2005 Zimbabwe
2006 Tanzania
2006 Zimbabwe--vacation
2007 Zimbabwe--vacation
2008 Zimbabwe
2012 Australia
2013 South Africa
2013 Zimbabwe
2013 Australia
2016 Zimbabwe
2017 Zimbabwe
2018 South Africa
2018 Zimbabwe--vacation
2019 South Africa
2019 Botswana
2019 Zimbabwe vacation
2021 South Africa
2021 South Africa (2nd hunt a month later)

Posts: 7281 | Location: Willow, Alaska | Registered: 29 June 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of buckstix
posted Hide Post
Hello quartermain,

I cock both the hammmers on my Pedersoli 45-70. Also for my Pedersoli 9.3x74R.