New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fliers in groups.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I recently bought a .22 target rifle, and have noticed that I get fliers in my groups that are consistently low and left. Normally my rifle shoots good groups (.25" or less at 25 yards), but the occasional flier brings the groups up to 3/4 inch or more at 25 yards. I seem to get the same result with three different types of ammo. Is there something in my shooting form that could be causing this (I'm right handed if it matters)? The rifle has a good but not great trigger. Can someone recommend a book that discusses proper form for benchrest shooting?

Posts: 130 | Location: Montana | Registered: 08 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert but assuming you speak of a rimfire, my first inclination would be to get a rim thickness gauge and use it. Sinclair has them.

Posts: 612 | Location: Atlanta, GA USA | Registered: 19 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

...I get fliers in my groups that are consistently low and left.

Is there something in my shooting form that could be causing this (I'm right handed if it matters)? The rifle has a good but not great trigger. ...

Hey elkhntr, Steve may be on the right track. I've never used one of the Rim Thickness Gauges, and don't personally know anyone who has. But, he may be exactly correct.

Your noticing the fliers always being in the same general position leads me to believe you are probably correct that it has to do with "shooting form". The reason I say this is because I've noticed a similar trait when I shoot heavy Loads in a pistol/revolver when I've not practiced for a good while. And I am Right Handed too.