Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of scottfromdallas
posted
I'm a newbie reloader and I'm having trouble when I resize my cases. Everything seems to be fine but I'm not getting proper neck tension. The caliber is 257 roberts. I'm using a basic Lee C-press and Lee Pace setter dies. Everything seems to be fine until I try to seat my bullets and it drops right through.

Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong? My 308 with the same setup has no problems. Could it be the die?

Posts: 1941 | Location: Texas | Registered: 19 July 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Could be the die, the expander or the brass.

The die might not be compressing the neck enough, the expander might be to large in dia and the case neck might be to thin. I've never used the pace setter dies but if you can remove the expander and see if it makes it better. Then we can go from there.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
It has to be the die.
I'm not familiar with the Lee dies but with the exception of some bushing dies all threaded dies first size the case and in your case most importantly the neck and then on withdrawing the case there is an expander plug on the de-capping rod that stretches the neck back out a bit to the proper size.
My first guess would be your expander plug is way to large and is expanding the neck too much. Second guess is the die neck isn't sizing the case enough as in a bushing die without a bushing, or just a screwed up die cut to the wrong dimensions.
Last guess is the die is set out way to far and not sizing the case at all.
Did you follow the instruction on die set up that came with the die?
Let us know what ya come up with.

"If a man buys a rifle at a gun show and his wife doesn't know it"...Did he really buy a rifle?
Firearm Philosophy 101. montdoug