New
Find
Notify
Tools

17 Rem
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have no experience with this little round, but have always been interested. I have a guy that wants to sell me a Rem 700 classic in 17 Rem w/ scope (I don't know what brand, forgot to ask) for $450. Is that a good price for this rifle? I've heard allot of things about the 17 like fouling problems and inconsistancy. What your thoughts??? thanks

Posts: 439 | Location: USA | Registered: 01 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bad Ass Wallace
posted Hide Post
I have 5x17 cal centerfires including 17 Mach IV, 17/222, 17 Ackley Hornet and over the past 30 years, I can tell you that most of the bullshit that has been written is just that.
Extreme fouling comes from trying to get 12/10ths from the little round. My 17Rem Sako drives a 25gn Hornady at 3980fps with little or no fouling and there is no apparant difference between this "lesser" load and trying to get 4200fps. Accuracy is well under MOA. In the field when shooting rabbits, foxes I have never experienced any exceptional wind drift or premature bullet bust up.
Bullet performance on game is more unpredictable with Hornady's being relatively hard and needing 4000fps to break up. We used to have genuine 17 Rem projectiles that would perform best in the 36-3800fps range.
Lately I have been using the little 20gn V-max in my 17AH at 3700 and it is perfect. Anyone that feels these little guns lack power I usually demonstrate with the 17AH on full size steel chickens at 200m where it will knock them over regularly.

Posts: 1785 | Location: Kingaroy, Australia | Registered: 29 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post