New
Find
Notify
Tools

leupold question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This might sound stupid, but how much difference is there between the older vari-x and the newer vx scopes. I know there is quite abit in price.

Posts: 135 | Location: sw kansas | Registered: 25 April 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am far from an expert but the main differences are the adjustments and lens coatings. The VX1 for all practical purposes is the old Vari-X II with lesser lens coatings. I have one in 4-12x and it is great and I am going to buy a few more 2-7x.

The VX II has the lens system equal to or better than the old Vari-X II but now has audible click adjustment in 1/4 min.

I don't have knowledge or experience with the higher dollar Leups.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1621 | Location: Potter County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Both the VX-I and VX-II are the same essential design as the older Vari-X IIc that they replaced. All of the above are somewhat different than the original Vari-X, which had a different method of tube assembly and had its reticle lens in a different place. The IIc, VX-I, and VX-II are all excellent scopes with a reputation for being fog proof, recoil resistant, relatively compact, and having a wide range of acceptable eye placement, both fore-aft and laterally.

The biggest differences in the VX-I and VX-II are as follows: 1. Friction vs. click stop adjustments, 2. Additional power ranges available in the VX-II that are not available in the VX-I. 3. A lot of advertising hype about the lens coatings. There is no detectable difference in the lens coatings insofar as light transmission between the I and the II.