Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

? 22-250 twist ratio
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all. I read here alot but don't post much.
I'm thinking of rebarreling my old ruger m77 22-250.
What is the best twist ratio for 50 to 60 grain bullets? Would 1 in 10 work and also let me shoot heavier bullets?
Thanks

One of Us
posted Hide Post
What's the heaviest you will want to shoot? IMO a 1-12 would be best for up to 60's. A 1-10 will get you into the mid 60's. If you ever want to shoot the VLD's you'll want atleast a 1-8 A fast twist 22-250 shooting VLD's is a very nice setup maybe even consider the improved version for better case life.

For what it's worth Lapua is going to be making 22-250 brass soon and that with a AI shoulder and a fast twist would make a sweet yote, chuck, PD and about any other varmint rifle.

posted Hide Post
I've been shooting 22 cal rifles for over 40 years and have never shot over 55gr. but would like to have the option to go heavier with all the new bullets available nowdays.
Would a 1 in 8 still be good for the 50 to 60gr.
The reason i ask is i have a 260 in 1 in 8 and it soots the heavy bullets better than the lighter ones and i want to be able to soot the 50 to 60's real well.
Thanks

one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
"""Would a 1 in 8 still be good for the 50 to 60gr"""
The 1:9 was idea for 100gr bullets 1:12 for 70 to 85gr and the standard 1:14 worked for the 45 to 55gr range.
there are exceptions~ my 22-250 1:14 shoots 1/2" groups with 52gr bullets at100yrds.
1 to 1 1/4" groups with 60gr bullets if that accuracy is good enough for your .
the thing I would be concerned about with a 1:8 twist and light bullets is too much spin which affects accuracy and would strip the jacket off thin jacked bullets. sierrs spitzers come to mind.

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MikeBurke
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by hivelosity: