New
Find
Notify
Tools

.257 Wthby Mag ammo ?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Does anyone have any experience shooting the factory Weatherby ammo with the 115 grain Barnes X-Bullet? I was wondering about accuracy and game performance.

"Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars."

Posts: 410 | Location: Maryland | Registered: 12 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Dthfrmbv,

I have no experience with the factory loads, but I do have limited experience with handloaded Barnes 115 X-bullet in the 257 Weatherby.

I used them one year a few years back and that sesaon I killed 5 bucks and lost one with the X-bullet. The first 4 of the shots were either frontal or raking from flank forward. The results exactly what I was looking for, excellent penetration and nice sized exit. The 5th buck was broadside at 200 yards. Off he went for the planted pines with no blood trail. I found him about 75 yards away with only slightly larger than caliber exit wound. 2 days later I shot another nice buck standing in the same tracks I shot buck #5 and didn't find him. No blood trail. That's my experience with them. I think they would make a better elk sized bullet than deer bullet.

When I was hunting with the 257 weatherby, I killed close to 40 bucks with it. Tried different bullets. The Nosler 120 Partition offered lighting kills but only caliber sized exit wounds. All bloodless kills. No blood on me, 4 wheeler, or truck. The last 2 bucks I shot with the Partitions were "pay back time". Only pinhead sized drops of blood about every 20 feet or so and hands and knees tracking. One went over 100 yards and the other around 200 yards. No fun.

At that time, the 120 grain Speer flat base proved to be my favorite bullet for the 257.

The other day I picked up a box of the Nosler 110 grain AccruBonds. May get the 257 out of the safe again.

Joe A.