Find
Notify
Tools

Help with a 243.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Johnny foreigner
posted
I've just re-barreled my 243 to a 1-8 Pac Nor at 23". The intention was for long range Varmint (Red Fox). I'm sure I made a mistake in the twist as the 105s and 107s may not be ideal.
Anyway, I'm trying for an 87V-Max, 95Nosler CBT and 105 A-Max load.
I have a recent shoulder injury and wondered (it seems to) if you get more of a "shunt" from faster powders.

DW

Posts: 156 | Location: UK Oxford | Registered: 12 August 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't think you made a mistake at all. The faster twist will still shoot lighter bullets accurately provided you're a little careful with selection. Avoid hornady spsxs and speer tnts, the lightest vmaxs might be a little fragile (though I have no knowledge of that)

The number 1 issue with long range shooting of small targets is wind. VLD minimise wind drift. Drop can be taken account of by rangefinding and some method of aiming off be it holdover, mildot or dial ups.

Perception of recoil differs between individuals. A good recoil pad and/or a moderator would help a lot more than any powder issues.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I have a recent shoulder injury and wondered (it seems to) if you get more of a "shunt" from faster powders.

Actually, it is theorectially just the opposite, although the difference in recoil between powders giving the same bullet the same velocity will be undetectable.

The reason that faster powders produce (theoretically) less recoil is that you use less powder than with a slower powder, and therefore there is less total ejecta. It is the total mass of the ejecta (bullet, powder, and powder gases) that goes into the mass portion of the recoil equation. But dropping the velocity by 25 fps or the weight of the bullet by 5 grains reduces recoil by a far greater amount than switching from a slower to a faster powder.