THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    Why are so many ARs 1:9 twist instead of 1:7

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why are so many ARs 1:9 twist instead of 1:7
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
1:7 in an AR seems optimal to me because it allows shooting of everything up to 80 grains. So why are most manufacturers offering 1:9?

Posts: 18352 | Location: Salt Lake City, Utah USA | Registered: 20 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
possibly because of light bullets, i've got a old colt 1:7 that won't handle 50 grainers - it keyholes them. rare happening maybe, but does exist

Posts: 13461 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I think the military went to the 1:7 twist for the use of the heavy ss109 ammo.
I have a 1:9 Bushmaster a3 with a bdc Springfield 4.5x14 that shoots Blackhills 69gr match in the sub .75 moa range and 55gr ball just at moa.
The 69gr is the heavest bullet I have tried. I have heard that some of the palma guys are shooting 1:7 long throated barrels with 90gr seated out (single loading) and keeping them ss at 1k.
hope this helps

“I am an American; free born and free bred, where I acknowledge no man as my superior,
except for his own worth, or as my inferior, except for his own demerit.”
Theodore Roosevelt (1858 – 1919)

Posts: 240 | Location: texas | Registered: 05 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The 1in7 was necessary to stabilize the longer tracers.

1in9 is a good compromise and usually shoots all factory length ammo good, ie up to 77gr.
I have a 1in8 bbl on my Service Rifle so I can shoot 80gr Sierras and heavy VLD's, loaded out to a longer oal and single loaded for the 600 yard stage.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY