New
Find
Notify
Tools

338 Lapua vs. 338-378 W
 Login/Join

<RJ>
posted
Does anyone have any insight as to the long range (1000 yd. +) accuracy differences between these two?

Thanks,
RJ

one of us
posted Hide Post
Although I have no experience with either one, nor any use for a .338 larger than the Winchester, I can tell you that the Weatherby, with its radiused shoulder and free-bored rifling leade will be more difficult to make accurate than the conventioally-shouldered Lapua. Now that the .338 Remington Ultra is available, I would tend toward it in a big-cased .338.

Posts: 13239 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
<Bill T>
posted
RJ: I own a .338-378 Weatherby Accumark and have found it to be an excellent rifle. I know that a lot of people give Weatherbys a bum rap because of the radiused shoulders and the freeboring, however I have never had a problem getting a Weatherby to perform, and I currently have 3 of them. I don't have an axe to grind with Lapua, it's just in my neck of the woods, Weatherby components are avalible most anywhere, where as you would have better luck finding $100 bills on the sidewalk than finding ANYTHING on the gun shop shelves from Lapua. I personally think the .338 Lapua is a bit over rated. The .338-378 Weatherby Magnum is based on the .460 case, and they don't get any bigger! Bill T.

one of us
posted Hide Post
/

<Rust>
posted
My only question is, why bother. The .338 RUM is essentially the ballistic twin of either when loaded to the same pressures with the same bullet in the same length barrel. I've heard all the claims to the contrary but the actual pressure figures I've seen from a ballistics lab bear me out.

That said, the smaller diameter of the RUM allows it to be used in a 700 or 70 action, or pretty much any action that will handle a full length .375 H&H. Bit more selection.

Of course, that also means a much greater aftermarket in stocks, triggers, scope mounts and other trinkets.