THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    Which 100 grain 25-06 bullet in 25-06 for whitetails??

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which 100 grain 25-06 bullet in 25-06 for whitetails??
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Strut10
posted
I'm a newbie to the 25-06 and game.

I spent all summer killing paper & steel with 100 gr. SMK's. I'm looking for input on which 100 gr. game bullet will most reliably not blow up on close range shots on whitetail, yet reliably expand out to 500 or 600 yards if need be. I've been soured on Accu-Bonds by a bad experience with a 7-STW. So those are not an option. Ideally, I'd like to stay economical. But don't know how cup & core bullets will hold up on a 25 yard shot. Would be happy to hear all inputs.

Founder....the OTPG

Posts: 764 | Location: slightly off | Registered: 22 March 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Baised on deer and antelope that I have seen shot with the 243, 25/06 and the 257 WBY a Nosler Partition would be my personal pick, but I have seen a bunch of deer and antelope shot with a 100gr Sierra in the 25/06.

I have shot a few deer with a 100gr Hornady, 100gr Partition and the 120gr Partition, in the 257WBY. Could not tell much difference in performance, but all shots were broadside no raking type shots.

I still think it is hard to beat a Nolser Partition in the proper calibre and weight for the game being hunted, especially for allround use.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
100gr Barnes TSX work really well in mine with a stiff dose of IMR-4350.

Free men should not be subjected to permits, paperwork and taxation in order to carry any firearm. NRA Benefactor