New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anschutz?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
That .222 Remington bug has bitten pretty hard, and there don't seem to be a lot of choices out there. I want something with a heavy varmint barrel, and found out Anschutz offers the 1740 in this specification. I have no experience with this manufacturer, and want to know if the accuracy claims live up to the price?
Thanks for your opinions.
Regards, George.

one of us
posted Hide Post
In my experience, "Absolutely"! A lot of bull gets slung on various web sites so I don't want this to sound like the typical internet make believe, but I have 2 Anschutz Hornets. One is the 1730 Meister grade rifle and the other also a model 54 but in the discontinued Exemplar Hornet bolt pistol. Yesterday we had a break in the weather, I went to the range with the Exemplar (30 degrees and about 8 or 9 mph wind), it's a recent aquisition so I'm just finalizing load. To make a long story short 40 grain V-Max bullets fired over 13.3 grain Lil'Gun in once fired WW cases neck sized and primed with Remington 7 1/2 BR primers averaged right at half an inch at 100 yards for 5 shot groups (3X12 Burris Balistic-plex scope). The smallest group of the day was a .347, keep in mind this is a bolt action hand gun with a 10 inch barrel. I believe the small group would be the norm in the hands of a better pistol shooter than I cause that's about the average for my rifle with the same load. These guns are absolutely amazing (at least in the 2 I'm shooting), something to keep in mind is the triple duce has a tremendous reputation for accuracy, the Hornet doesn't, for years the .222 was the benchresters caliber of choice. For a take it out of the box and go shooting firearm they are some of the most accurate I've ever had the pleasure of shooting. That's my take anyway.

Posts: 1181 | Location: Bozeman Montana | Registered: 04 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post