New
Find
Notify
Tools

260 Remington question
 Login/Join

Picture of bighatnocattle
posted
I have been considering this caliber for a while since I like the thought of using 308 or 7mm/08 brass necked down to 6.5mm. I am a real newbie to reloading and have never attempted this. My question is how is this accomplished? Do you just run a 7mm/08 casing into a 260 rem sizing die and it narrows down the neck? Any information would be greatlt appreciated.

One of Us
Picture of 45otto
posted Hide Post
Be sure to lube the case. Why not just buy .260 rem cases?

Are you gonna pull those pistols or whistle Dixie?

Posts: 439 | Location: Rosemount, MN | Registered: 07 October 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I probably will buy brass to start with but I have a friend that shoots 308 and doesn't reload so there is a source of free brass.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
You may find that an intermediate sizing of 308 to 7mm will provide straighter brass.

one of us
posted Hide Post
you can buy 100 pcs. for about $45.00 i just bought some. but yes, you can resize. i have used .243 or 7-08.. like 45otto said, lub real good. and then trim

Posts: 1135 | Location: SouthCarolina | Registered: 07 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Most factory rifle chambers are cut fairly sloppy. The advantage of using 7/08 brass is when you neck it down, it takes up a couple of thousands of that slop. Problem with 308 brass in a 260 is it comes up 0.02 short and takes away the advantage of the 260s longer neck.

Just my worthless opinion but the 260 is one of the best all around whitetail cartridges out there. Rifle manufactuers just cut it short with such poor selections in rifle choices.

Free men should not be subjected to permits, paperwork and taxation in order to carry any firearm. NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1652 | Location: Deer Park, Texas | Registered: 08 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post