New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wolf .223 primers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Has anybody tried the wolf 223 primers in an AR or any other rifle. pros and cons, please. any info on them is welcome.

velocity is like a new car, always losing value.
BC is like diamonds, holding value forever.

Posts: 1650 | Location: , texas | Registered: 01 August 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with Wolf Primers. However, I read that David Tubb won the Camp Perry Matches this past year using Wolf Primers.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wolf Small Rifle Mag primers is what you want to use. Wolf SR primer cups are a bit soft for AR's.

They are very consistent from lot to lot. I stopped using CCI mil primers after I shot a few thousand rounds with Wolf.

One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
popcornThe Wolf SR Primers have done well in all the rifles I've used them in, save one.The Savage .223 ,12BV SS-s will puch holes in them frequently. This has not happened with any other primer and probably could be corrected by reshaping the end of the fireing pin and or weekening the bolt spring. beerroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
As mentioned, the Magnum version works quite well in the AR15. I was skeptical at first, but fellow XC match shooter suggested I try them and no problem, plus they are available at a reasonable cost.

Posts: 1328 | Location: West Virginia | Registered: 19 January 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wolf makes 3 SR primers, std., mag., and what they refer to as 223 primers. The "223 primers" are designed to be used in AR's, (harder cup), right? How do they work/are they suitable in non AR applications.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote