THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    Which is the quietest small bore centerfire cartridge?
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which is the quietest small bore centerfire cartridge?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I believe that what Moorepower said was true, that the earlier Ruger 77/22 hornets had issues with accuracy.

Ruger has since got its act together, so I would only ask when this rifle was made.

I'm am surprised that no one mentioned the 204. It is quieter than my .223, but it is a touch louder than the hornet, but not much.

Posts: 270 | Location: Cedar Rapids IA | Registered: 02 November 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with a Hornet, but I shoot quite a bit of downloaded 223's (bluedot) with 55 grainers around 2000 fps. It's a polite load. FWIW, Dutch.

Life's too short to hunt with an ugly dog.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I own 17 Ack hornet, 17 Mach4, 17 Rem, Tac 20, 22 Hornet and plenty of larger varmint cartridges. out of all of them the 17 Ack Hornet is the quietest followed by 22 Hornet and then the 17 Mach4. From there on up they get alot louder. The performance advantage puts the Mach4 way ahead of either of the Hornets.
The 25g at 3900fps kills coyotes great and the 20VMax at 4250fps is like a laser beam on squirrels out to 350+ yards.

Posts: 460 | Location: Auburn CA. | Registered: 25 March 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You want a quite centerfire 22? Find/make a 22-3-30 Rook with about a 24" barrel. BTW, It's the 2nd from the left, between the 22 Short RF and the 22 LR RF

Of course factory ammo will be a little tough to find Big Grin