Find
Notify
Tools

6.5X284 Norma,.. Match Loads
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of WhatThe
posted
I'm completely new to this cartridge and was hounded by my peers to get my (F) class chambered in this round. I got the Savage F class Model 12 at present the barrel is being tuned and I should have it in a week or so. Here's the funny part, my so called "peers" that talked me into it, don't even have a rifle in this caliber but assured me they are heading that direction. And to top it off, I'm a tactical competitor and have never shot F class. But with that said, I'm learning and would like to compete next year. So I am seeking some load knowledge and advice on this new en devour....Your thoughts.....

Barrel is stainless: 30" heavy with a 1:8 twist.

I just realized I posted this in the wrong forum, please excuse my consistent ignorance..

Posts: 542 | Location: So. Cal | Registered: 31 December 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
142 grain SMK & Reloader 15.

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Slowpoke Slim
posted Hide Post
I have the same rifle, albeit mine has a McGowen barrel on it instead of the factory Savage bbl.

The 2 bullets that gave me the best performance have been the 142 gr Sierra matchking, and the Berger 140 gr match VLD. I got slightly better performance from the Berger than the Sierra. This can vary from rifle to rifle, so my recommendation would be to try both bullets in your rifle.

My "chosen" powder has been H 4831SC. I'm using 50.0 grs in the Berger, and 50.5 grs in the Sierra load. I'm using Lapua brass and Fed match primers.