Find
Notify
Tools

22/250 and 1:9 twist
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted
I just put together a nice varmint 22/250 on a push feed m70 action. I used a Shilen barrel in 1:9 twist. My origonol plan was to use a 1:12 but somehow when I ordered the barrel I clicked the 1:9 which was just above the 1:12 and did realize until after the work was already done.

I have zero experience with the 22/250 so I am not sure how this will affect my accuracy. I had planned on shooting 45gr bullets pushing 4000 fps and 55gr bullets pushing 3700 fps. Will the 1:9 be too fast a twist for these loads?

Any suggestions or loads that have worked in your 1:9 22/250 barrels I would love to hear about.

William Berger

True courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway. - John Wayne

The courageous may not live forever, but the timid do not live at all.

Posts: 3155 | Location: Rigby, ID | Registered: 20 March 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You should check out the post to my question "22-250 fast twist and starting loads" answered by seafire/B17G. Should have been on or about 12/5/2006. My 22-250 is a 8 twist and I have fired 55gr noslers but never worked up a load, just fired what I had on hand. I had a fast twist built because I have 69,77,80 grain bullets on hand for Highpower cometition. They will never go as fast but the high BC should help in the wind. Right now I like imr 4064 and the 75 gr. A-max

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have 2 22-250s with 1 in 9" twist barrels and like them a lot. I'm shooting 55 grain BTs and 60 grain Partitions in them, a Savage 11 and a Remington 788. If you try to shoot lighter thin jacket bullets at maximum speed, the twist might be so quick that the bullets come apart during flight. I have seen that happen with 40 grain bullets in combination with a quick twist 22-6mm. For windy country shooting, you'll be glad that you have the heavier bullet option.

Jeff