Find
Notify
Tools

.17PPC or .17BR info
 Login/Join

<Arizona Larry>
posted
Hello Gentlemen,
Give me your experiences with the .17PPC or .17BR cartridges. They appear a little overbore to me. But I may be wrong. Any fouling problems with them? Velocity of these loads??? Thanks for your input.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I don't see why they would be any more over-bore than the .17 Rem and probably a lot more accurate doue to the good brass available......and I''ve never seen a .17 that wasn't a fouler and a real pain-in-the-arse to clean but I have limited "observational" experience with rifles of friends but none of my own.

I think if I were going to do one I would take a close look at the .17/.221...it has a name but I can't think of it. Todd Kinkler is kind of the "King" or sub-calibers and publishes something called "the small caliber news".

Posts: 4360 | Location: Sunny Southern California | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
<Arizona Larry>
posted
Thank you for the input. I think your talking about the .17 Mach IV cartridge. I get Small Caliber News magazine from Todd and it's the greatest source for the small ones. I have ordered his back issues on these cartridges. I'm just looking for real world experiences from .17PPC or .17BR owners.
Thanks, Larry

one of us
posted Hide Post
Larry,

I have a 17PPC-VLD (only shoots the Berger 37gr. VLD bullet), that's currently getting a new barrel.
A close friend has a 17BR, with a 9.0" twist barrel, that shoots 30 grainers in excess of 4200fps.

Got ya interested?

Friend Of The 17
Kevin Gullette

Posts: 409 | Location: The Republic Of Texas, USA | Registered: 28 December 2000Reply With Quote
<Arizona Larry>
posted
Hey Kevin,
Why did you do that? I'm running out of excuses to not order a barrel. At 37grs, your almost at .224 bullet weights. Must be a darn long bullet! Thanks, Larry

one of us
posted Hide Post
Larry,

Be VERY VERY VERY careful about barrel twist when considering the 37VLD bullet.